South Tawton with South Zeal, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to South Tawton with South Zeal, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Tawton with South Zeal, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Okehampton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1541|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
SOUTH TAWTON with SOUTH ZEAL
TAWTON, SOUTH (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Oakhampton, hundred of Wonford, Crockernwell and S. divisions of Devon, 3¼ miles (E. by S.) from Oakhampton.
With ZEAL, SOUTH, a chapelry, in the parish of South Tawton, union of Oakhampton, hundred of Wonford, Crockernwell and S. divisions of Devon, 4½ miles (E. S. E.) from Oakhampton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
South Tawton with South Zeal, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|South Tawton with South Zeal, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241330.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
South Tawton on GENUKI
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 3 November 2013.
- ↑ Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 742. Date accessed: 3 November 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
- This page was last modified on 23 February 2015, at 20:43.
- This page has been accessed 1,842 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More