South Tottenham, Middlesex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to South Tonntenham, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
TOTTENHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Edmonton, county of Middlesex, 4 miles (N. by E.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.
TOTTENHAM, a parish, which is also a sub-district, in Edmonton district, Middlesex; averagely 5½ miles N by E of St. Pauls, London. There are eleven chapels for dissenters and 1 for Roman Catholics.
St Ann South Tottenham was consecrated a district church in the year 1861 and lies within the civil parish boundaries of Tottenham All Hallows.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438773.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 13 June 2015, at 17:12.
- This page has been accessed 1,206 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News