South Wingfield, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from South Wingfield, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to South Wingfield, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Wingfield, Derbyshire
All Saints South Wingfield Derbyshire.jpg
All Saints South Wingfield Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINGFIELD, SOUTH (All Saints), an ancient parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 2¼ miles (W.) from Alfreton. Other places in the parish include: Oakerthorpe.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

South Wingfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
South Wingfield All Saints (1585) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1586-1912
  NONE
1586-1912
  NONE
1585-1912
  NONE

South Wingfield St Mark

Derbyshire Record Office reference D639 has deposited registers Bap 1585-1979 Mar 1585-1974 Burial 1585-1974 Banns 1754-1812, 1824-1906 There is also a transcript of burials 1971-1974 at the Record Office.

Wingfield Park a private burial ground within the parish

Derbyshire Record Office reference D639 has deposited registers  Burial 1879-1929

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1661-1874 Mar 1661-1837 Burials 1661-1874 Missing Bap/Bur 1841-1842

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241298.


Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

South Wingfield on GENUKI

References

  1. Wilson, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 613-618. Date accessed: 26 June 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2016, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,962 times.