Southbroom, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Southbroom, Wiltshire)

England Gotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Southbroom, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southbroom, Wiltshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Potterne and Cannings
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Devizes PLU
Registration District Devizes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572
Bishop's Transcripts: 1620-1625; 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BROME, or BROOM, SOUTH, a chapelry, in the parish of Bishop's-Cannings, union of Devizes, hundred of Potterne and Cannings, Devizes and N. divisions of Wilts, ¼ mile (S. E.) from Devizes.[1] [2]SOUTHBROOM, or St. James, a chapelry in Bishops-Cannings parish, Wiltshire; near Devizes railway station.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Southbroom parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
SOUTHBROOM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1879


FREG
1572-1837

IGI 1572-1879 1572-1883
JOIN
1572-1837

NBI

1568-1837
NIM 1574-1837
1572-1837
1572-1837
TGEN
1572-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 392-395. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Brockhampton - Bromeholme', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 392-395. British HistoryDate accessed: 14 October 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  7. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  9. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  10. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 826 times.