Southend St John the Baptist, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Southend St John the Baptist, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Southend St John the Baptist, Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Rochford PLU
Registration District Rochford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1842
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOUTHEND, is a hamlet, in the parish of Prittlewell, the union and hundred of Rochford, and S. division of Essex, it is 1¾ mile (S. S. E.) from the village of Prittlewell. Southend is situated at the mouth of the Thames, directly opposite the river Medway. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Southend St John the Baptist, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Southend St John the Baptist, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1842-1952
1863-1956
1870-1981

Southend All Saints, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Southend All Saints, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1878-1960
1887-1954

Southend St Erkenwald, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Southend All Saints, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1910-1977
1911-1957

Southend St Francis and St John Bosco, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Southend All Saints, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1914-1919



Southend St Mark, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Southend St Mark, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1912-1962
1939-1957

Westcliff-on-Sea St Alban the Martyr, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Westcliff-on-Sea St Alban the Martyr, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1899-1982
1901-1957

Westcliff-on-Sea St Andrew, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Westcliff-on-Sea St Andrew, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1930-1965
1930-1957

Westcliff-on-Sea St Michael, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Westcliff-on-Sea St Michael, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1923-1968
1924-1957

Westcliff-on-Sea St Paul, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Westcliff-on-Sea St Paul, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1918-1993
1899-1957

Westcliff-on-Sea St Saviour, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Westcliff-on-Sea St Saviour, Essex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1906-1958
1911-1957

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office See also Prittlewell, Essex for earlier registers and images for All Saints from 1878, St Erkenwald from 1910, Southend Hospital, Cliff Town Congregational Church from 1831, Michael Tomlin Memorial United Methodist Church, Park Road Wesleyan Methodist Church, Southend Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, St. Francis and St. John Bosco (mission to All Saints) St. Mark Trinity Reformed Episcopal Church Warrior Square (later Bournemouth Park) Congregational Church York Road Wesleyan Methodist Church

Thorpe Bay Essex Online Parish Clerks( OPC)

Westcliff on Sea Essex Online Parish Clerks OPC)

Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.


Poor Law Unions

Rochford Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Prittlewell on GENUKI
[1]

Southend-on-Sea on GENUKI

Southend St John the Baptist on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted 4 June 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 June 2015, at 15:58.
  • This page has been accessed 2,712 times.