Sowerby St Mary, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sowerby St Mary, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sowerby St Mary, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Halifax PLU|
|Parish registers: 1848|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1848|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish HistorySowerby St Mary is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1848 from Elland Ecclesiastical Parish.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from parish registers of Sowerby St. Mary exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|SOWERBY ST. MARY PARISH (1***) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464259.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sitesContributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 8 February 2015, at 20:03.
- This page has been accessed 1,284 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More