Spalding St Mary & St Nicholas, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Spalding, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Spalding St Mary & St Nicholas, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Spalding St Mary & St Nicholas, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spalding PLU
Registration District Spalding
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SPALDING (St. Mary and St. Nicholas), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 44 miles (S. E. by S.) from Lincoln, and 100 (N.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans. [1]

Spalding St Mary and St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish and a market town; the chapelry of Cowbit, Lincolnshire was formed from this parish.

Other places in the parish include: Fulney, Little London, Low Fulney, Wykeham or Wickham, Windsover or Winsover, and Spalding Common.

The church was built around 1284 and was built as a parish church by the Prior of the Benedictine priory found two centuries earlier.

In 1874 the ecclesiastical parish of Spalding St John, Lincolnshire was created from this parish.

In 1876 St Peter's church was built and formed a further ecclesiastical parish.

In 1880 the ecclesiastical parish of Fulney St Paul was created from this parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Spalding sub-district of Spalding registration district Search registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Spalding St Mary St Nicholas Par 1 will identify available images.

The Friends Meeting house in  Double Street Spalding was built in 1805

The Roman Catholic church of the Immaculate Conception and St Norbert was built in Henrietta Street was built.

The Broad Street Methodist Chapel dates from 1887.

Search FamilySearch Catalogue Spalding


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438753.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spalding Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Spalding/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,953 times.