Spondon, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Spondon, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Spondon, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Spondon, Derbyshire
St Werburgs Spondon Derbyshire.jpg
St Werburgs Spondon Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ockbrook
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Spondon St Werburgh is an Ancient Parish in Derbyshire.

SPONDON (St. Mary), an ancient parish, in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (E. by S.) from Derby. There are places of worship for Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Spondon St Werburgh included the chapelry of Stanley, Derbyshire

Spondon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
SPONDON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FSPR
1653-1912
None
1654-1912
None
1653-1910
None
PRTS 1654-1826
1654-1754
1654-1812

Derbyshire Record Office reference D2990 has deposited registers Bap 1653-1981 Mar 1653-1976 Burials 1653-1922 Banns 1931-1945, 1948-1968, 1978-1986

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1661-1862 Mar 1661-1837 Burials 1661-1862

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.


Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Spondon on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 159-164. Date accessed: 26 June 2103.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 15:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,613 times.