Sprotborough, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngSprotbrough

Sprotborough St+Mary Doncaster Yorkshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Sprotborough St Mary is an Ancient Parish which included Cadeby, Sprotborough with Cusworth and Doncaster Bridge, and Cusworth.

The civil parish is Sprotborough and Cusworth

The Parish Church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Spotborough Wikipedia

SPROTBOROUGH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Doncaster, N. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York; containing, with the township of Cadeby, 534 inhabitants,of whom 381 are in Sprotborough township, 2¾ miles(W. S. W.) from Doncaster. [1]

Neighbouring Parishes

Arksey, Yorkshire Doncaster, Yorkshire Balby with Hexthorpe, Yorkshire Warmsworth, Yorkshire Conisbrough, Yorkshire Mexborough, Yorkshire High Melton, Yorkshire Marr, Yorkshire Brodsworth, Yorkshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Sprotborough exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestory.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
SPROTBROUGH PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1559-1900

1559-1900

None

JMI None

1559-1640, 1653-1837

None

ANC (£) None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

AO None

None

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sprotborough to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Sprotborough page.

Cemeteries

Civil Registration

Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site i is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Parish Records

Online Sprotborough, Yorkshire Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
1559
.

Indexes

1559-1837 Joiner[2]

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1559.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464277.


References

Bibliography

Genealogy and History Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 159-164. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'Search Marriage Records in West Riding of Yorkshire,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 2 October 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 March 2014, at 01:39.
  • This page has been accessed 987 times.