Sprouston, Roxburghshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Sprouston. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.
SPROUSTON, a parish, in the district of Kelso, county of Roxburgh; containing the village of Lempitlaw, 2 miles (E. N. E.) from Kelso. This place, of which the name is of uncertain derivation, is of considerable antiquity, and appears to have formed part of the endowment of the Abbey of Kelso in the year 1128. The church, erected in 1781, and repaired in 1845, is a plain, neat, and substantial edifice situated on an eminence nearly in the centre of the village, and is adapted for a congregation of 500 persons. The members of the Free Church have no place of worship.
The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Sprouston. Also available at the Family History Library.
A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about Scotland Census Records.
Click here for a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Sprouston.
Below is information for any known surname indexes:
|1841||941.47/B3 X2m 1841|
|1851||941.47/B3 X2m 1851|
|1861||941.47/B3 X2m 1861|
|1881||6086664 ( 3 fiche)|
The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.
The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about Scotland Church Records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.
Established Church—Old Parochial Registers
|Years Covered||Family History Library Film Number|
|Births:||1635-1854||1067952 item 3-4|
|Marriages:||1652-1785, 1845-1854, 1867||1067952item 3-4|
|Deaths:||1633-1637||1067952 item 3-4|
Condition of Original Registers—
Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers. Some records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: There are no entries July 1644–December 1713 and May 1720–August 1722.
Marriages: There are no marriage entries November 1643–December 1713 and May 1720–June 1728, except a fragment of a page with portions of entries probably for 1722–1723. There are no entries April 1785–February 1845.
Deaths: Only two pages, both incomplete.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Established Church—Kirk Session Records
The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.
Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
Minutes 1650–1656, 1662–1673, 1691–1700, 1709–1712, 1722–1769 - with accounts,
1731–1798 - mainly financial, 1770–1816 - with accounts, 1817–1873
Accounts 1753–1788 - few leaves, 1774–1832, 1816–1857, 1851–1885
Poors’ Accounts and Minutes 1752–1771, 1780–1803 - includes Heritors' Minutes
Young Communicants, etc. 1836–1876
Account of Poor's Mortified Money in the Barony of Haddon 1782–1829
Acts of General Assembly 1709–1717
Communion Roll - post 1850
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/334.
Nonconformist Church Records
A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.
Sprouston or Kelso East Free Church
The minister of Sprouston parish, and part of his congregation, "came out" in 1843. They worshiped in the old Original Secession Church in Kelso until their new church, in the outskirts of the town, was opened in 1846. The church was renovated in 1882. In 1883, the name of the congregation was changed from Sprouston to Kelso, East.
Membership: 1848, 414; 1900, 221.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source.
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/1463.
Civil Registration Records
Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
Sprouston was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Peebles until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Jedburgh. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Roxburgh and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Peebles
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Roxburgh. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Roxburgh and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.
Return to the Roxburhshire parish list.
- This page was last modified on 2 July 2015, at 15:37.
- This page has been accessed 1,913 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News