Stäfa parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Stäfa parish

Guide to Stäfa parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Stäfa

Abern
Alter Sternen
Auessere Risi
Ausserfeld
Bahnhofquartier
Bauertacker
Baumgarten
Beewies
Benderbühl
Binz
Breitweg
Brünnishausen
Burgstall
Dachslern
Dorf
Ebnet
Eich
Eichtlen
Fangen
Frohberg
Furren
Geeren
Geissen
Glärnischstrasse
Grafen
Grund
Grundhalde
Gsteig

Häldeli
Hinterer Püntacker
Hinter-Redlikon
Hotwiel
Im Freien
Kapf
Kehlhof
Kerngerten
Kirchbühl
Kreuz
Kreuzplatz
Kreuzstrasse
Länder
Langfach
Laubisrüti
Lanzeln
Lattenberg
Laubsten
Matt
Mies
Mittler-Träubel
Moritzberg
Mühle
Mühlehölzli
Mutzmalen
Neuhaus
Oberer Geeren

Ober-Haslenbach
Oberhausen
Ober-Hüttenacker
Ober-Kessibühl
Ober-Redlikon
Ober-Schooren
Oberer Träubel
Obstgarten
Oetikon
Platte
Rain
Ranghausen
Rank
Reesenrain
Rhyner
Riet
Rietlirain
Ritterhaus
Rohrhalde
Rütihof
Schirmensee
Schwiler
Seeacker
Sennhütte Redlikon
Sonnental
Sonnenwies
Spittel

Stäfa
Sternen
Sternenhalde
Storrbühl
Strick
Töbeli
Traubenberg
Uelikon
Uerikon
Unter-Haslenbach
Unter-Hüttenacker
Unter-Kessibühl
Untere Matt
Unter-Rain
Unter-Redlikon
Untere Risi
Unter-Schooren
Unterer Träubel
Vorderer Püntacker
Wädenswiler
Waisenhaus
Wanne
Weier
Wiesengrund
Zaniken
Zehntentrotte
Zihl

Surrounding Parishes

Freienbach (Schwyz)
Hombrechtikon
Männedorf
Oetwil am See
Richterswil
Wädenswil

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Stäfa:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185140 1 686
1634 1185139 1 1
1637 1185141 2 1
1640 1185143 1 175
1643 1185145 1 209
1646 1185147 2 55
1649 1185149 1 213
1654 1185151 1 287
1657 1185179 1 105
1671 1185153 1 1
1678 1185152 3 563
1682 1185159 1 183
1689 1185164 1 1
1695 1185164 2 1
1707 1185169 2 45

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Stäfa families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Stäfa belongs to the Männedorf civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt
Bahnhofstrasse 10
CH-8708 Männedorf

Tel: +41 44 921 66 00

email: zivilstandsamt@maennedorf.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Stäfa prior to 1875:

Aufenast
Bachmann
Baumann
Baur
Billeter
Bodmer
Boller
Bosshard (1864, from
    Sternenberg)
Brändli
Brändlin
Braun (1872, from
    Germany)
Bühler
Dändliker
Egli (1875, from
    Hinwil)
Eimer (1842, from
    Germany)
Glarner
Gnehm
Graf
Gysling

Gyssling
Hasler
Heusser
Hirscher
Honegger
Hottinger
Huber
Hübschmann (1853,
    from Feuerthalen)
Hürlimann
Itschner
Jenny (1860, from
    Schwanden)
Jud
Kappeler (1875, from
    Bäretswil)
Keller
Kindlimann
Kleinert
Kölla
Kohler
Krauer
Kunz

Leemann
Lüthy
Lutz
Mettler
Oetiker
Paur
Peter
Pfenninger
Pünter
Raths
Rebmann
Regensburger (1875)
Reimann
Reymann
Ryffel
Ryhner
Schauffelberger
Schärer
Scherrer (1875, from
    Rheinau)
Schmid
Schörrli
Schulthess

Schwerri (1855, from
    Mellstorf)
Stiefel
Strickler
Stutz (1875, from
    Russikon)
Suter
Treichler
Ufenast
Wachter
Wädensweiler
Walder
Weber (1875, from
    Gossau)
Weideli
Wirz
Wolfensberger
Wyland
Wymann
Wysling
Wyssling
Zolliker

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 14:34.
  • This page has been accessed 488 times.