St. Croix County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to St. Croix County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|St. Croix County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Founded||March 11, 1848|
|Address|| St. Croix County Courthouse|
1101 Carmichael Road
Hudson, Wi 54016
St Croix County Website
County County Courthouse
St Croix County Courthouse
1101 Carmichael Road
Hudson, Wi 54016
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records;
Register in Probate has probate records
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
- St. Croix County Census Information with links to some federal census records. WIGenWeb project
- 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
- 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
- 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
- 1885 Wisconsin State Census Search indexed census. Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
- 1895 Wisconsin State Census Index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
- 1905 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Church History and Records
First Lutheran Church, New Richmond
- Records of the First Lutheran Church, New Richmond, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Glenwood City
- Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Glenwood City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Star Prairie, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Land and Property
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of St. Croix County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military History and Records
Civil War service men from St. Croix County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of St. Croix County.
- - 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company D
- - 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company H with men from the town of Forest, which is found in Fond du Lac County, Richland County, St. Croix County or Vernon County
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1800 – 1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1848 – 1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
St Croix County Historical Society
1104 Third Street
Hudson, WI 54016
Area Research Center - University of Wisconsin - River Falls
Chalmer Davee Library, University of Wisconsin-River Falls
120 Cascade Avenue
River Falls, WI 54022
New Richmond Heritage Center
1100 Heritage Dr
New Richmond, WI 54017
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- St. Croix County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- St. Croix County WIGenWeb project
- St. Croix Archives USGenWeb Archives
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 St Croix Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2016, at 19:54.
- This page has been accessed 8,743 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News