St. James Parish, Mecklenburg, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  St. James's Parish (Mecklenburg Co.)

Contents

History

St. James's Parish has served Lunenburg and Mecklenburg counties.

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Cemetery

Surveys of graves at St Luke's Episcopal and St. James Episcopal churchyards, published in 1982, are available in book form: FHL Book 975.5645 V3m.[2]

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of St. James Parish is available online.[3]

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers do not survive.

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. Munsey Adams Moore and Margaret Moore, Cemetery and Tombstone Records of Mecklenburg County, Virginia (Chase City, Va.: Munsey Moore Publications, c1982, c1987).
  3. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,187 times.