St Budeaux, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|Part of this parish is in Devon. See also St Budeaux, Cornwall.|
|St Budeaux, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Plympton St Mary|
|Registration District||Plympton St Mary|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
BUDEAUX, or BUDOCK, ST., is a parish, in the union of Plympton St. Mary, hundred of Roborough, Roborough and S. divisions of Devon, 4½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Plymouth. The parish comprises by computation of 2500 acres, of which 120 are in the county of Cornwall. The church was rebuilt in 1563. There are places of worship for Wesleyans.
BUDEAUX, or Budock (St.), the village is near the Albert bridge and the Saltash station of the Cornwall railway, 4 miles NW of Plymouth. The parish includes also Heniecknowle, and King's-Tamerton, and part of Knacker's-Knowle and Whitleigh; and its post town is Saltash, Cornwall. There are chapels for Episcopalians and Wesleyans. 
St. Budeaux is a chaplry in Plymouth St Andrew ancient parish, Devon (Roborough Hundred), a small part is in Cornwall (East Hundred), the latter was transferred in 1894 to Devon.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
St Budeaux, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|St Budeaux, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1539-1653, 1792-1850, 1861-1864, 1870s||
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Association
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241319.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
St Budeaux on GENUKI
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 3 November 2013.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 9 August 2013.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
- This page was last modified on 25 November 2015, at 19:36.
- This page has been accessed 2,742 times.