St Columb Major, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Columb Major, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Columb Major, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pyder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Columb Major PLU
Registration District St Columb
Records begin
Parish records: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pydar
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

COLUMB, ST., MAJOR (St. Columba), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Pyder, E. division of Cornwall, 32 miles (S. W. by W.) from Launceston, and 245 (W. by S.) from London. There are places of worship for Bryanites, Independents, and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists; also a Roman Catholic chapel at Llanherne. [1]

General overview


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.


Church records

St Columb Major, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books (FamilySearch) - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
GOOG = Google Books - free[9]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[10]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[12]
St Columb Major, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1539-1812

COPC 1683-1913
1650-1900
1539-1551, 1571-1933
FMP 1540-1838 1544-1837
FREG 1540-1780
1615-1812
1539-1793
FSBOOK 1539-1780 1539-1780 1539-1780
FS PRs 1539-1901 1539-1900 1539-2005
GOOG 1539-1780 1539-1780 1539-1780
IARC 1539-1780 1539-1780 1539-1780
IGI 1540-1780
PALL
1781-1812

Overview, Include information for parish registers and Bishop's Transcripts, Contact information for the office holding the original records, Links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall County Record Office reference: P36

Images are also available for the St Columb Wesleyan Methodist Circuit reference vols 12-14

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241271.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to [county] Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 668-672. 15 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  7. Arthur John Jewers, The Registers of the Parish of St. Columb Major, Cornwall, from the Year 1539 to 1780 (London: Hamilton, Adams and Co., 1881). Digitised by FamilySearch Books (FamilySearch) - free.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Arthur John Jewers, The Registers of the Parish of St. Columb Major, Cornwall, from the Year 1539 to 1780 (London: Hamilton, Adams and Co., 1881). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  10. Arthur John Jewers, The Registers of the Parish of St. Columb Major, Cornwall, from the Year 1539 to 1780 (London: Hamilton, Adams and Co., 1881). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  11. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 04:06.
  • This page has been accessed 509 times.