St Mary in the Marsh, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to St Mary in the Marsh, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


St Mary in the Marsh, Kent
St Mary in the Marsh St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
St Mary in the Marsh St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh PLU
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Mary in the Marsh is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent, see St Mary in the Marsh Wikipedia

St Mary in the Marsh St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in Romney Marsh and in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.

Parts of the church dates from 1133 and this church replaced a saxon church, "Siwold's Circe" on the site. The Church is supported by the Romney Marsh Historic Churches trust. The church in common with other Romney Marsh churches was used for smuggling.

The Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin, Pickneybush Lane, St Mary in the Marsh  has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed Building

Author Edith Nesbit who lived in nearby St Mary's Bay in two converted RAF huts the "Long Boat" and the "Jolly Boat" is buried here, her grave headboard is designated as a grade II scheduled monument British listed building register.  Her "Railway Children" novel was adapted as a screen play.

John Coleman VC (12 July 1798 – 21 May 1858) was an English recipient of the Victoria Cross, the highest and most prestigious award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that can be awarded to British and Commonwealth forces. He was born here.

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 406-409. Date accessed: 11 November 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

St Mary in the Marsh was partly in the hundred of St Martins Pountney see Edward Hasted

'The hundred of St Martins Pountney: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 399-400 at British History Online

The ruined church of Hope All Saints and it's parish were incorporated into the parish of St Mary in the Marsh in 1934. The Ruins of the Church of All Saints Hope, St Mary in the Marsh have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building see New Romney with Hope, Kent See Edward Hasted  The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 415-420 at British History Online

Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Mary in the Marsh, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[2]
St Mary in the Marsh, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1750-1911
1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
St Mary in the Marsh
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

Census records

No microfilm census collection is currently identified; an online census search is likely to be quicker for Romney Marsh parishes.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

MARY'S, ST., a parish, in the union and liberty of Romney-Marsh, though locally in the hundreds of Newchurch and Martin-Pountney, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 2¼ miles (N.) from New Romney. [3]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  2. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 271-277. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,545 times.