St Marychurch, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from St Marychurch, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to St Marychurch, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Marychurch, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Haytor
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1641
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipplepen
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARY, ST., CHURCH, a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbott, hundred of Haytor, Paignton and S. divisions of Devon, 2 miles (N. W.) from Torbay.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Protestant Dissenters
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Strict Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241314.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St Marychurch on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 3 November 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 February 2015, at 20:59.
  • This page has been accessed 992 times.