Stanislaus County, California GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stanislaus County, California)

United States go to California go to Stanislaus County

Guide to Stanislaus County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Stanislaus County, California
Map of California highlighting Stanislaus County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Founded April 17, 1907
County Seat Modesto
Address Stanislaus County Courthouse
1021 I Street
Modesto, CA 95354
Phone: 209.525.5250
Stanislaus County Website


County Information

Stanislaus County, California Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1873 1854 1873 1850 1854 1854

Historical Facts

County Courthouse

County Clerk Recorder has marriage records from 1870
birth and death records from 1900  Clerk Superior Court
has divorce, probate and court records from 1854
County Recorder has land records from 1854[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties


Bible Records




For tips on accessing Stanislaus County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Modesto
  • Oakdale
  • Turlock

Court Records

Crime and Criminals


Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups





Local histories are available for Stanislaus County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.




Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stanislaus County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Modesto Bee


Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Stanislaus - Probate records.


Archives, Libraries and Museums

Stanislaus County Library
1500 I St
Modesto, CA 95354
Telephone: (209) 558-7800
The library's catalog is online. It has many items genealogy related items. The library subscribes to a number of online databases, some of which would be useful to genealogists. The Special Collections room at the Modesto Library includes works on genealogy, sections on California and local history, and older high school yearbooks. This area also includes non-current editions of local telephone and city directories. None of these items may be checked out. Volunteers from the Stanislaus Genealogical Society often staff this room and answer genealogical queries. 

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.


Genealogical Society of Stanislaus County, CA., Inc.
P. O. Box A
Modesto, CA 95352-3660
Telephone: (209) 529-6467
The Stanislaus Genealogical Society works closely with the Stanislaus County Library's Special Collections Room, adding to its holdings, volunteering there, and answering queries.


California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records





Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

McHenry Museum and Historical Society
1402 I Street
Modesto, CA 95354
Phone: 209.577.5235

Stanislaus County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 4735
Modesto 95352

Genealogical Society of Stanislaus County
PO Box A
Modesto, CA 95352-3660
Genealogical Society of Stanslaus County, CA, Inc.

Patterson Township Historical Society
PO Box 15
Patterson, CA 95363

Pocahontas Trails Genealogical Society
3628 Cherokee Lane
Modesto, CA 95356

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stanislaus County, California. Page 87At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2015, at 20:28.
  • This page has been accessed 10,713 times.