Stanley, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stanley, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Stanley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanley, Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ockbrook
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

STANLEY (St. Andrew), an ancient parish, created in 1828 from a chapelry in Spondon, Derbyshire. It is in the union of Shardlow, hundred of Appletree, though locally in the hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 6 miles (N. E. by E.) from Derby. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.

Church records

Stanley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Stanley St Andrew Chapelry (1675) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1675-1912

Stanley St Andrew was originally a chapelry in Spondon, Derbyshire parish. The parish includes a mission church at Stanley Common.

Fire destroyed a burial register for 1812-1901

Derbyshire Record Office reference D3209 has deposited registers Bap 1675-1942 Mar 1754-1959 Burials 1678-1812, 1901-1992 Banns 1926-1979

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1847 Mar 1662-1837 Burials 1662-1847

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Stanley on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 183-186. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 15:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,353 times.