Stanly County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stanly County, North Carolina)

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Stanly County

Guide to Stanly County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records



Stanly County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Stanly County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1841
County Seat Albemarle
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Stanly Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Stanly Count Courthouse
201 S 2nd St
Laurinburg, NC 28352
Phone: 910-277-2577


Register of Deeds has marriage and land records
Clerk Superior Court has probate records

Stanly created from Montgomery 11 Jan 1841[1]

History

Parent County

1841--Stanly County was created from Montgomery County.
County seat: Albemarle [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Some of the early records are missing. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncstanly.png

African American

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Stanly County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.


Church Records

Methodist
  • Randall's United Methodist Church, near Norwood, N.C. Organized about 1785.[4] Originally located in Montgomery County.

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

- 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company H
:- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company G
:- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company G
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
:- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries 

Stanly County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 31
Albemarle 28002-0031

Stanly County Historic Preservation Commission
245 East Main St.
Albemarle, NC 28001

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stanly County, North Carolina. Page 513 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
  4. "Randall's United Methodist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 21:28.
  • This page has been accessed 6,203 times.