Stanningley, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stanningley, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngStanningley

Guide to Stanningley, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanningley, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leeds Borough; Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Rotherham
Registration District Bradford; Hunslet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

STANNINGLEY, a hamlet, partly in the township of Bramley, parish of Leeds, and partly in the townships of Calverley cum Farsley, parish of Calverley, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 5½ miles (W. by N.) from Leeds. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Stanningley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS =
ANC = (£)
JOIN = - (£)
STANNINGLEY CHAPELRY (1828) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1828, 1837-1838






AC None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Stanningley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leeds to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Leeds parish page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464286.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-192. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2015, at 13:53.
  • This page has been accessed 2,290 times.