Stannington, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Stannington, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Wortley PLU|
|Parish registers: 1830|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1830|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
STAININGTON, an ecclesiastical district in the parish of Ecclesfield, union of Wortley, N. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W.riding of York, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Sheffield, on the road to Glossop. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Unitarians. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Stannington exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|STANNINGTON CHAPELRY (1830) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Stannington and comprising the whole ancient parish of Ecclesfield to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Ecclesfield parish page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464276.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Heaviside, George Coulson. An F.R.S. from Morley. History and family names of John Heaviside born 1607, and Ann nee Porter, his wife married 11 November 1643. Descendants move about Billingham, Stockton on Tees, Wolviston, Marylebone, London. with some in USA, Canada, and Australia. Surnames, Story, Wilson, Moore, Laws, Taylor, Winlow, Smith and West, dated 1607-1955. Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 35,no.1.page 21-24. Family History Library Reference, 942.8 B2jo v.35 no.1 (spring 2010
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 170-175. Date accessed: 23 April 2013.
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2015, at 13:53.
- This page has been accessed 1,847 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News