Stanton under Bardon, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngLeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Stanton under Bardon, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Stanton under Bardon, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Market Bosworth
Registration District Market Bosworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1915; For more records see Thornton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparkenhoe
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Groby
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STANTON-UNDER-BARDON, a chapelry, in the parish of Thornton, union of Market-Bosworth, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county ofLeicester, 9 miles (W. N. W.) from Leicester. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438749.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-192. Date accessed: 27 August 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 04:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,223 times.