Stanwick St John, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Stanwick St John, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stanwick St John, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Richmond|
|Parish registers: 1652|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1615|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Richmond|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
STANWICK ST. JOHN (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Richmond, wapentake of Gilling-West, N. riding of York, 8½ miles (W. by S.)from Darlington; containing,the townships of Aldborough, Caldwell, and East Layton and Stanwick. This parish extends nearly to the river Tees. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Stanwick St John exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|STANWICK ST JOHN PARISH (1615) Online Records|
|FS|| 1615, 1678-1847
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464230.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2015, at 13:53.
- This page has been accessed 2,528 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News