Stapleford, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes

Stapleford, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Branch and Dole
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Wilton PLU
Registration District Wilton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

STAPLEFORD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wilton, hundred of Branch and Dole, Salisbury and Amesbury, and S. divisions of Wiltshire, 4½ miles (N. N. W.) from Wilton. It is located 1½ mile NNW of Wishford railway station [1] [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stapleford, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[6]
Stapleford, Wiltshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1637-1640, 1662-1812
1637-1837

FMP 1500s-1800s
IGI 1637-1812
NIM 1600-1837
1637-1837
1600-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 192-195. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. Wilson, John Lewis, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  3. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' FindMyPast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  6. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 June 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 508 times.