Staunton, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Staunton, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|— Independent City —|
|For additional records, see Augusta County, Virginia.|
Indexes (1808-1951) and images (1808-1913) to Staunton City, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
Since Staunton was created 16 January 1908 from Augusta County.  go to the Nansemond County page for information about the Civil War military units of that county. Civil War service men from Suffolk served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their area.
- 1793-1794 - Staunton Spy (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1800-1801 - Political Mirror (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1808-1809 - Political Censor (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1811 - Spirit of the Press (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1814 - Staunton Observer (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Staunton silversmiths.]
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Staunton is included in Vol. 5.]
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
|This Virginia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 1 August 2015, at 01:31.
- This page has been accessed 4,012 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News