Staveley, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Staveley, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Staveley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Staveley, Derbyshire
Staveley St John the Baptist Derbyshire.jpg
Staveley St John the Baptist Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield PLU
Registration District Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Staveley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STAVELEY (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 4¾ miles (N. E. by E.) from Chesterfield. containing, with the chapelry of Barlow. The Wesleyans have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Staveley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Staveley St John the Baptist(1558) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1810-1912
  NONE
1861-1887
  NONE
1813-1877
  NONE

Staveley St John the Baptist included the hamlets of Netherthorpe,Inkersall, Mastin Moor, Norbriggs, Poolsbrook and Woodthorpe. Chapels of ease opened at Woodthorpe in 1632 Poolsbrook in 1905 Mastin Moor 1914 and Inkersall in 1958.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 661 has deposited parish registers Bap 1558-1665, 1702-1978 Marr 1558-1665, 1702-1988 Bur 1558-1692, 1702-1991 Banns 1754-1813, 1940-1999

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1868 Mar 1662-1837 Burials 1662-1869

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241298.


Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Staveley on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 195-198. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,522 times.