Staveley, Westmorland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Staveley, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Kendal PLU|
|Parish registers: 1651|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1756|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal|
|Location of Archive|
|Westmorland Record Office|
STAVELEY, OVER, a township and chapelry, in the parish, union, and ward of Kendal, county of Westmorland, 5 miles (N. W. by N.) from the town of Kendal. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. 
Other places in the parish include: Over Staveley and Nether Staveley.
It should not be confused with Staveley, Lancashire or Staveley-in-Cartmel in Cumbria
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464190.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 13 May 2015, at 03:22.
- This page has been accessed 1,432 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News