Steeple Ashton, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Steeple Ashton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Steeple Ashton, Wiltshire|
|Poor Law Union||Westbury and Whorwellsdown PLU|
|Registration District||Melksham; Westbury|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1584; 1608; 1622|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
ASHTON, STEEPLE (St. Mary), a parish, partly in the union of Westbury and Whorwelsdown, and partly in that of Melksham, hundred of Whorwelsdown, Whorwelsdown and N. divisions of Wilts. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Steeple Ashton, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Steeple Ashton, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464203.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 90-96. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
- This page has been accessed 1,337 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More