Stella St Cuthbert, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stella, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Stella St Cuthbert, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stella St Cuthbert, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union Gateshead PLU
Registration District Gateshead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STELLA, a township, in the parish of Ryton, union of Gateshead, W. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, A Roman Catholic chapel was erected in 1831.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/241 Date: 1847  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Family Search Historical Records. The images for the parish register transcripts have not yet been loaded and await engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Parish registers from 1845-1983 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL ( EP/Ste)

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Stella St Thomas Aquinas Roman Catholic Church records 1775-1838 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL only in microfilm version; the baptisms are included in the International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) Marriages are included in Boyd's marriage Index and transcripts are available at the Record Office. The present church was built  in 1831 by John Green with some stained glass windows attributed to Pugin.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241349.


Poor Law Unions

Gateshead Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stella St Cuthbert (see Ryton) on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 March 2015, at 18:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,928 times.