Sternenberg parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Sternenberg parish

Guide to Sternenberg parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Sternenberg belonged to Wila until 1706, when it was created an independent parish. Two farms which had belonged to Bäretswil until 1651, and to Bauma from 1651 onward, were included in the creation of Sternenberg.

Place Names

Locations within Sternenberg

Aeberliswald
Aespen
Ausser-Matt
Bauegg
Bogen
Böhl
Buch
Ebni
Gerster
Gfell
Gfellacker
Gibsegg
Heurüti
Hinterberg
Hinter-Kohlboden
Hinter-Rossweid

Hintertobel
Höchstock
Kalspel
Kohltobel
Kohlwies
Lachen
Lindenhof
Matt
Musterplatz
Neugut
Neurüti
Ober-Batzenegg
Obere Bruchegg
Ober-Gfell
Obere Langfurri
Ober-Matt

Oberwald
Oberwies
Oberer Wolfenzedel
Oberer Zapfen
Riedrüti
Rietli
Rietwies
Rossweid
Ruchwies
Schürli
Schwendi
Sonnenbad
Speltrüti
Steinshof
Sternenberg
Stockwies

Sülchböhl
Tiefmoos
Töbeli
Unter-Batzenegg
Untere Bruchegg
Unter-Höchstock
Untere Langfurri
Unter-Matt
Unter-Steinshof
Unterer Wolfenzedel
Unterer Zapfen
Vorder-Kohlboden
Wald
Wies
Wolfen
Ziegelhaus

Surrounding Parishes

Bauma
Fischingen (Thurgau)
Fischenthal
Mosnang (Sankt Gallen)
Wila

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Sternenberg was created in 1706. For censuses prior to 1706, see Wila.

The following censuses are available for Sternenberg:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1706 1185170 1 393
1721 1185175 1 875
1740 1185175 1 837
1750 1185175 1 855

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Sternenberg families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Sternenberg belongs to the Bauma civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Bauma
Dorfstrasse 41
Postfach 232
CH-8494 Bauma

Tel: +41 52 397 70 60

email: zivilstandsamt@bauma.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Sternenberg prior to 1875:

Bachmann
Bosshard
Egli
Furrer
Führlinger (1849, from
    Germany)
Gauer (1853, from Germany)
Graf
Helbig (1846, from Germany)
Hohn (1841, from Germany)
Jucker
Kägi
Keller

Kündig
Lattmann
Lees (1857, from Germany)
Lüssi
Müller
Ottiker
Rebmann
Rebsamen
Rüegg
Rupper
Sassenfeld (1853, from
    Germany)

Schiele (1851, from Germany)
Schläpfer (1864, from
    Rehetobel)
Schnurrenberger
Schoch
Schwinn (1848, from Germany)
Seiler
Spörri
Thalmann
Wagner
Wetzel
Wolfensberger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 February 2015, at 14:37.
  • This page has been accessed 413 times.