Stillington, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stillington, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Stillington, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stillington, Durham
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Sedgefield
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Redmarshall
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STILLINGTON, a township, in the parish of Red Marshall, union of Sedgefield, S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 8 miles (N. W. by W.) from Stockton. [1]

Additional information: Stillington St. John the Divine was created in 1872 from the parishes of Grindon St. James the Greater; Redmarshall St. Cuthbert.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1872-1979 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Sti).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.


Poor Law Unions

Sedgefield Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stillington on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 200-205. Date accessed: 31 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 February 2016, at 21:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,592 times.