Stockcross, BerkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Stockcross

Guide to Stockcross, Berkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockcross, Berkshire
Type Hamlet
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faircross; Kintbury Eagle
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Newbury PLU
Registration District Newbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1839
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newbury
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish Records

STOCK-CROSS, a hamlet, in the parish of Speen, union of Newbury, hundred of Kintbury, county of Berks, 2½ miles (N. W.) from Newbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registrations

Church Records

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 207-209. Date accessed: 3 October 2013. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 14:25.
  • This page has been accessed 372 times.