Stockport St Augustine, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Stockport St Augustine, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Stockport.-- parl. and mun. bor., manufacturing town, par., and township, Cheshire, on river Mersey, 5 miles SE. of Manchester by rail - par. 
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.
Stockport St Augustine registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Stockport St Augustine Parish (1893) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1887-1909
| FS BT's
Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for St. Augustine's Church, Stockport, 1887-1950 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P269/1/1-2, P269/2/1-4.
| Parish Registers: Stockprot St. Augustine
| Baptisms, 1887-1950. Marriages, 1894-1945.
|| Granite Mountain Record Vault 2106218 Items 2 - 7|
| Marriages, 1945 (from 22 Dec.)-1947.
|| 2106219 Item 1|
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Stockport (1837-1930)
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.
- This page was last modified on 7 July 2015, at 15:16.
- This page has been accessed 560 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News