Stockport St George, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stockport St George, Cheshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Stockport St George

Guide to Stockport, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Hempshaw Lane. Founded 1897 as the parish church for part of Stockport.

St. George, Hyde is a chapelry in Hyde township, Stockport parish.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241245.


Church Records

Stockport St George Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Stockport St George (1897) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1897-1909
  NONE
1897-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers for St. George's Church, Stockport, 1897-1959 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P303/4505/1-2, 7-15, 23-27.

Parish Registers: St George Stockport Film
Baptisms, 1897-1941. Marriages, 1897-Aug. 1934.
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2147994
Marriages, Aug. 1934-1959. Banns of marriages, 1897-1910.
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2147995
Banns of marriages, 1910-1950.
Family History Library British Film 2299164 Items 5 - 8

Parish registers for St. George's Church, Hyde, 1832-1972 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P 60/1/1-5, P 60/3605/2, P 60/2/1-4, P 60/3605/2/1-4, P 60/3/1-8, P 60/3605/3/1-2.

Parish Registers: St George, Hyde chaplery of Stockport
Film
Baptisms, 1832-1851.
2069048 Items 8 - 9
Baptisms, September 1851-1892, 1909-1922. Marriages, 1839-November 1859.
2069086
Marriages, November 1859-1910.
2069087
Marriages, March 1910-1940. Burials, 1832-June 1846.
2069088
Burials, June 1846-April 1887.
2069089
Burials, January 1888-January 1910.
2069090
Burials, November 1909-1972.
2069091 Items 1 - 2

Non-Conformist Churches

Stockport has numerous churches and chapels.  The principal faiths include: 

Stockport, Our Lady and the Apostles (Roman Catholic), Edgeley Road. Founded 1799, rebuilt in 1905.
Stockport, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic), Tatton Street. Founded 1851, the present church was Built in 1862. Registers of baptisms 1862–1912, marriages 1863–1934 and burials 1862–1905 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Michael (Roman Catholic). Registers of baptisms 1851–1895, marriages 1856–1882 and burials 1863–1866 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Stockport, St. Ambrose (Roman Catholic), Adswood Road. Founded 1939.
Stockport, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers), Lower Hillgate. Built in 1705.
Stockport, United Reform Church (Hanover Chapel) (Independent/Congregational). Records of baptisms 1816–1961 are at the Cheshire Record Office. 

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Stockport, but the exact parish has not been identified:

Baptist
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Independent Methodist
Independent/Congregational
Methodist New Connexion
Presbyterian
Presbyterian Unitarian
Primitive Methodist
Roman Catholic
Society of Friends/Quaker
Wesleyan Methodist.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Stockport

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:44.
  • This page has been accessed 576 times.