Stoke Dry, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stoke Dry, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Stoke Dry, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Stoke Dry, Leicestershire
St Andrew Stoke Dry Rutland.jpg
St Andrew Stoke Dry, Rutland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree; Wrangdike
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Uppingham PLU
Registration District Uppingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOKE, DRY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Uppingham, partly in the hundred of Gartree,S. division of Leicestershire, but chiefly in the hundred of Wrandike, county of Rutland, 3½ miles (S. S.W.) from Uppingham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Peterborough : Stoke Dry Bap 1559 - 1812 Marr 1559 - 1837 (Banns to1966) Bur 1559 - 1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.


Poor Law Unions

Uppingham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 217-220. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 667 times.