Stokeham, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Stokeham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Stokeham St Peter Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1618; For more records see East Drayton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1638|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
STOKEHAM, a parish in East Retford district, Notts; 4 miles NE of Tuxford r. station. Post town, Retford. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to East Drayton. There is a Wesleyan chapel.
Stokeham St Peter was formed as a chapelry of East Drayton, Nottinghamshire Ancient parish and the civil parish of Stokeham is in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.
The Parish Church of St Peter has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Stokeham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Stokeham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Stokeham St Peter
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1671-1911 Marriages 1687-1929 Burials 1618-1916 Bishop's Transcripts 1638-1838
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stokeham
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 22:54.
- This page has been accessed 1,829 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News