Stokenham, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stokenham, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Stokenham, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stokenham, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coleridge
County Devon
Poor Law Union Kingsbridge PLU
Registration District Kingsbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodleigh
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOKENHAM (St. Barnabas), a parish, in the union of Kingsbridge, hundred of Coleridge, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of Devon, 5¼ miles (E. by S.) from Kingsbridge. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stokenham, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Stokenham, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1578-1582


IGI 1578-1591
1574-1582


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Presbyterian
  • Protestant Dissenters

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241306.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stokenham on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 224-229. Date accessed: 04 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 February 2015, at 15:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,352 times.