Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire
St Michael Stoney Stanton Leicestershire.jpg
St Michael Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Hinckley PLU
Registration District Hinckley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1583
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Guthlaxton
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STANTON-STONEY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Hinckley, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S.division of the county of Leicester, 4¼ miles (E. by N.)from Hinckley. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Stoney Stanton like this:

STANTON-STONEY, a parish, with a village, in Hinckley district, Leicester; 4¼ miles E by N of Hinckley r. station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Stoney Stanton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1558-1910
1558-1910
1558-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Stoney Stanton Bap 1558 - 1970 Marr 1558 – 1987 (Banns to1989) Bur 1558 - 1973
In addition this office holds the following Non-Conformist records:

Stoney Stanton Congregational Church Bap 1901-1969 reference N/C/310/6

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438749.


Poor Law Unions

Hinckley Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-192. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 15:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,292 times.