Stony Middleton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stony Middleton, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Stony Middleton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stony Middleton, Derbyshire
Stoney Middleton St Martin Derbyshire.jpg
Stoney Middleton St Martin Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1715
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eyam
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stoney Middleton, created in 1743 from a chapelry, in the parish of Hathersage, union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 5½ miles (N. by E.) from Bakewell. There is a place of worship for Unitarians. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stony Middleton St Martin originally a parochial chapely in Hathersage, Derbyshire parish. Part of the parish of Eyam, Derbyshire was attached to this parish in 1936.

Stony Middleton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Stony Middleton St Martin (1715) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
1900-1911
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Derbyshire Record Office reference D1455 has deposited parish registers Bap 1715-1878 Marr 1715-1750, 1759-1947 Bur 1715-1862 Banns 1761-1763,1792-1813, 1888-1941

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1856 Mar 1662-1836 Burials 1662-1856

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Presbyterian
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241291.


Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stony Middleton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 310-313. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,043 times.