Stourmouth, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Stourmouth, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Stourmouth, Kent
Stourmouth All Saints Kent.jpg
Stourmouth All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bleangate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry PLU
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stourmouth is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent; see Stourmouth Wikipedia

Stourmouth All Saints is an Ancient Parish; the church is in West Stourmouth 4 miles north of Wingham, Kent.

The church was declared redundant in 1979 and is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust, it is a Saxon church with alterations in the late 12th century. It was rebuilt following an earthquake in 1382 and windows were added in the 14th and 15th centuries. The Victorian renovation of 1845 of the interior added new seating. See All Saints Church West Stourmouth Wikipedia and Churches Conservation Trust

The church of All Saints, Church Lane, Stourmouth has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The last register entries for baptism is dated 9 June 1974.

See also Edward Hasted's 'Parishes: Stourmouth', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 126-130. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online  and Kent Resources website

Resources

Civil Registration

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stourmouth, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Stourmouth, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1910 1538-1910 1754-1841 (Banns) 1754-1841 (Banns) 1538-1812 1538-1812

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Stourmouth 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

STOURMOUTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Bleangate, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Wingham. [4]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 229-234. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,426 times.