Strand, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngRogaland County Gotoarrow.png Strand

Guide to Strand, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Contents

Church Records

Strand church.jpg
Strand clerical district records begin in 1702. They contain church records for Strand clerical district which include the parishes of Strand, Jørpeland and Høle with Forsand. Forsand (Fossan) was divided from Høle in 1852 and became its own parish. Høle and Forsand were divided from Strand clerical district in 1864 and became the parishes in the new [Høgsfjord, Norway|Høgsfjord]] clerical district.

An extract of the parish registers from Høle and Strand parishes in Rogaland county. Pt. 1. Christenings for Høle and Strand parishes 1702- 1768 -- Pt. 2. Christenings for Høle and Strand parishes 1702-1768

An extract of the parish registers for Høle and Strand parishes in Rogaland county containing marriages for Høle and Strand 1726-1768


Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet.

Strand: 1702-1816, 1855-1897

Strand / Høle: 1816-1854

Strand / Strand 1816-1934

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Strand clerical district includes Strand and Høle parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Strand Database

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Strand Database

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information

This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Strand Database

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

1910 Census search at Digitalarkivet


Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet.

Strand and Forsand police station
*1865-1976 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Books

Farm histories of Strand, Rogaland county, Norway with vital information on farm residents.

Alsvik, Jan, "Folk i Strand : ei gards- og ættesoge", Hafrsfjord : Hafrsfjord forlag, c1995. 948.31/S4 D2a 3 vols. with an index in volume 3.

Farm Names

58 Aadnenes 39 Aasen 13 Alsvig 14 Amdal 31 Auglend 42 Barke 43 Barkve 26 Bjøreim nedre 42 Bjørkhaug 57 Botne 57 Botsheien 50 Dalen 60 Erlandsdalen 6 Fiskaaen indre 44 Fjelle nedre 51 Fureneset 47 Førland 46 Førlandsheien 1 Gjeideskjær 2 Grødeim 53 Haahammeren 21 Heggeim 57 Heien 38 Helland 64 Heng 65 Hille 63 Hinnarholmen 49 Holen 24 Holte 8 Høiland 62 Idsal 63 Idse 49 Jørpeland 55 Jøssanger 11 Kjølevig 3 Kraagevold 61 Kvalvaag 18 Kvam 48 Langeland 23 Lekvam 16 Lunden 36 Melberg 20 Meltveid 38 Myren 41 Nag 35 Nes 24 Neset 12 Norddal 34 Nordland 31 Præstegaarden 10 Rag 10 Ravnaas 31 Refsaasheien 28 Rodebakken 37 Sedberg 52 Seleskog 49 Steinene 32 Strand 59 Svines 16 Tau 30 Tjøsseim 33 Tuftene 53 Tungland 40 Tveid 15 Ugelien 32 Varhaug 22 Varland 19 Vastveid 12 Vatland 29 Vaule 53 Veiene 4 Veland 9 Vervig 54 Vigen 53 Volden 5 Voster 27 ØsterhuAlsvik, Jan, "Folk i Strand : ei gards- og ættesoge", Hafrsfjord : Hafrsfjord forlag, c1995. 948.31/S4 D2a 3 vols. with an index in volume 3.


Alsvik, Jan, "Folk i Strand : ei gards- og ættesoge", Hafrsfjord : Hafrsfjord forlag, c1995. 948.31/S4 D2a 3 vols. with an index in volume 3.

Vol. I

Geitaskjer, Grødem, Krogevold, Veland, Voster, Fiskå, Høyland, Vervit, Ravnås, Kjølevik, Vatland, Alsvik, Amdal, Tøge Buene og Østebøstølen, Ugelid, Tau, Tou Brug, Kvam, Vastveit, Meltveit, Heggheim, Varland, Lekvam, Holta, Øvre Bjørheim, Nedre Bjørheim (Nerhus)

Vol. II

Østerhus, Rodabakken, Vaula, Tjøstheim, Prestegarden (Løvbrekke), Strand, Solbakk (Tuftene), Nordland, Nes, Melberg, Sedberg, Helland, Åsen, Tveit, Nag, Barka, Barkved, Fjelde, Leite (Førlandsheia), Førland, Langeland

Vol III

Jørpeland, Dalen, Fureneset, Seljeskog (Selemork), Tungland, Notvik, Jøssang, Vatne, Botne, Ådnanes, Svines, Erlandsdalen, Kvalvåg, Idsal, Idse, Heng, Hidle, Litle Døvik, Store Døvik, Sørskår, Ur s



References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 19:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,168 times.