Stratford St John, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stratford St John, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Stratford St John, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stratford St John, Essex
St John's Stratford.JPG
St John's Stratford
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham PLU
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stratford St John or simply Stratford, is a town, a ward, and three chapelries, in West Ham parish, Essex. The town is on the river Lea, and on the Great Eastern railway, the railway is 4½ miles east of St. Paul's, London; it has a bridge which connects it with Stratford-le-Bow; and has a post-office under London East. There is an Independent chapel,along with Baptist and Wesleyan chapels, as well as a Roman Catholic chapel. The chapelries are St. John, Christchurch, and St. Paul.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stratford St John, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Stratford St John, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1834-1939
1844-1957
1835-1922
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

St John the Evangelist
The Broadway
Stratford
Baptisms 1834-1939
Marriages 1844-1960
Burials 1835-1912,1915,1922: ERO
Baptisms 1939- date
Marriages 1960- date: Not deposited

Christ Church

High St
Baptisms 1851-1956
Marriages 1855-1960: ERO

Holy Trinity
Oxford Rd
Baptisms 1888-1941
Marriages 1920-1941: ERO

St Aidan
Ward Rd
Baptisms 1900-1940: ERO

St Mark
Windmill Lane
Baptisms 1892-1903
Records with St. Paul Stratford

St Paul
Maryland Rd
Baptisms 1860- date
Marriages 1866- date: Not deposited

St Stephen
Cedars Rd
Baptisms 1918-1936
Records with St. John's Stratford

St Francis of Assisi
(Roman Catholic)
Grove Crescent Rd

Baptisms 1770-1812
Marriages 1805-1853: ERO (copies)
All originals 1770- date: Not deposited

St Patrick
(Roman Catholic)
Lett Rd
Formed 1897
Closed 1945

Congregational Chapel
(Brickfields Chapel)
Baptisms 1774-1838
Burials 1784-1840
Burials 1845-1854: PRO

Latter Day Saints
Assembly Hall
Maryland Rd
All records ?-1918: SLC

Methodist Chapel
West Ham Lane
Marriages 1937-1948 : ERO

Primitive Methodist Chapel
Henniker Rd
Baptisms 1865-1959: ERO

Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
Baptisms 1838-1880
Marriages 1891-1941: ERO

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241361.


Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stratford on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 17 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 June 2015, at 17:05.
  • This page has been accessed 3,603 times.