Strathblane, Stirlingshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Stirlingshire Gotoarrow.png Strathblane

Parish #491

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Strathblane. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.


Contents

History

STRATHBLANE, a parish, in the county of Stirling, 10 miles (N. by W.) from Glasgow. This place derives its name signifying in the Gaelic language "the Strath of the Warm River," from the sheltered situation of the vale through which the river Blane has its course. The present church, erected in 1803, is a handsome structure in the later English style of architecture, and contains 450 sittings.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Strathblane, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year Family History Library Film Number Surname Index
1841    1042712 991449 Item 1
1851 1042279 None
1861 0103917 None
1871 0104107 None
1881 0203546 6086682 (5 fiche)
1891 0208788 None

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church  Old Parochial Registers

Click here to go to the Family History Library Catalog entry for the Established Church records for Strathblane, covering the years 1672-1854.

Condition of Original Registers

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers. The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: There is only one entry May 1689–December 1691, and August 1744–April 1747. There is an index for period 1748–1854.
Marriages: The record is blank, excluding a fragment of a leaf with parts of entries 1733–1734, July 1689–May 1734, and April 1787–April 1792. There are four imperfect leaves at 1689, with entries of proclamations 1669–1685. In the records 1770–1807 inclusive, the fact of marriage is seldom added to the entry of proclamation. Early leaves of both births and marriages have suffered much from dampness and want of care.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church  Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1632 (one leaf), 1640–1659, 1667–1689, 1727, 1738–1769, 1829–1892
Note: Available at the Stirling Council Archives, Stirling, Scotland, record CH2/438.

Noncomformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

There are no known pre-1855 nonconformist churches or records for this parish.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
 

Probate Records

Strathblane was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Ayr until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Stirling. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk . You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Stirling and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Ayr.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Stirling. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Stirling and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 500-519. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 February 2014.

[Return to the Stirlingshire parish list.]

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 February 2014, at 18:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,036 times.