Stratton, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Contents

Parish History

STRATTON, (St. Mary) a parish, with two hamlets, in Dorchester district, Dorset; on the river Frome and on the Dorchester and Yeovil railway, 3½ miles NW of Dorchester.[1]

STRATTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dorchester, hundred of George, Dorchester division of the county of Dorset, 3½ miles (N. W.) from Dorchester; .[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Stratton, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1560
1562
1560
Images
1560-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1813-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1999 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1813-1879 Ancestry[7] 1562-1837 Joiner[8]
1562-1836 PRTSociety[9]
1654-1775 FindMyPast[10]
1813-1836 FindMyPast[11]

Stratton, Dorset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[12]
Stratton, Dorset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1562-1836


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales,, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870.Date accessed: 10 July 2103.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1848. Date accessed: 10 July 2103.
  3. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012. Bishop's transcripts.
  8. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 4 July 2012.
  9. 'Dorset,' Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 31 July 2012.
  10. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  11. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  12. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 563 times.