Stretton on Dunsmore , Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stretton, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

{{Infobox England Jurisdictions
Stretton on Dunsmore , Warwickshire
Stretton upon- dunsmore- All Saintschurch.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Knightlow
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Rugby PLU
Registration District Rugby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Coventry
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STRETTON-UPON-DUNSMORE (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Rugby, Rugby division of the hundred of Knightlow, N. division of the county of Warwick, 6 miles (S. E. by E.) from Coventry.[1]

Additional information:

PRINCETHORPE, is a township in Stretton-on-Dunsmore parish, Warwickshire; on the Fosse way, near the river Ichene, 6 miles N W of Southam.[2]

Stretton upon Dunsmore All Saints completed 1837 and designed by Thomas Rickman.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stretton on Dunsmore , Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[3][4]
Stretton on Dunsmore , Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812 1651-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464176.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/descriptions/entry_page.jsp?text_id=956010fckLRfckLRJohn Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,773 times.