Stretton Parva, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stretton Parva, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Stretton Parva, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stretton Parva, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon PLU
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592; For more records see King's Norton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STRETTON PARVA, a chapelry, in the parish of King's-Norton, union of Billesdon, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 6 miles(E. S. E.) from Leicester. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Stretton Parva like this: STRETTON-PARVA, a chapelry in Kings Norton parish, Leicestershire; 3 miles N by E of Glenn r. station, and 5¾ SE of Leicester.

The chapel of ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST is situated on the west side of the village. It is built of ironstone with limestone dressings and consists of an aisleless nave and chancel under one roof with a west tower and south porch. It dates from the late 12th century to which period belong the west and side walls of the nave, including the north and south doorways. These both have round arches, simple abaci, and plain jambs, all of limestone. The south door has an outer order decorated with round-billet ornament; the north door is blocked, the result of an order made in 1832 and fulfilled by 1835.

From King's Norton', A History of the County of Leicestershire: Volume 5: Gartree Hundred (1964), pp. 256-264. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=22064 Date accessed: 19 May 2011.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 246-250. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,165 times.