Stretton en le Field, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Stretton en le Field, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stretton en le Field, Derbyshire
Stretton en le Field St Michael Leicestershire.jpg
Stretton en le Field St Michael Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashby de la Zouch PLU
Registration District Ashby de la Zouch
Records begin
Parish registers: 1638
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartshorn
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STRETTON-EN-LE-FIELDS (St. Michael), an ancient parish. Historically part of Derbyshire but since 1897 it has wholly been in the County of Leicestershire. Other places in the parish: Oakthorpe and Donisthorpe. It is in the union of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, though locally in the W. division of the hundred of Goscote, county of Leicester, 5 miles (S. W.) from Ashby with part of Oakthorpe hamlet. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stretton en le Field parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Stretton en le Field St Michael (1638) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Leicester Record Office has deposited registers Stretton en le Field Bap 1638 - 1981 Marr 1638 - 1970 ( banns to 1974) Bur 1636 - 1812
The parish was in the county of Derbyshire until 1897 when it became part of Leicestershire

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1871 Mar 1662-1837 Burials 1662-1871Missing Bap/Bur 1849-1857

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.


Poor Law Unions

Ashby de la Zouch Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stretton en le Field on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 246-250. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,225 times.