Stutsman County, North Dakota GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Stutsman County, North Dakota)

United States Gotoarrow.png North Dakota Gotoarrow.png Stutsman County

Stutsman County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

link= Dakota_Online_Genealogy_Records North Dakota
Online Records

Stutsman County, North Dakota
Map of North Dakota highlighting Stutsman County
Location in the state of North Dakota
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Dakota
Location of North Dakota in the U.S.
Founded January 4, 1873
County Seat Jamestown
Address Stutsman County Courthouse
511 2nd Ave SE
Jamestown, ND 58401
Phone: 701.252.9042
Stutsman County Website


County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth, death, burial, divorce and court records;
Register of Deeds has land records; County Judge has marriage
and probate records[1]


Parent Counties

4 January 1873: Stutsman County was createdfrom Pembina and Buffalo Counties (Buffalo County, North Dakota is no long existent.) County seat: Jamestown [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barnes | Foster | Griggs | Kidder | LaMoure | Logan | Wells



Cemetery transcriptions for cemeteries in Stutsman County, providing name, date of birth, and date of death where available


  • 1880
  • 1885
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1915
  • 1920
  • 1925
  • 1930


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about North Dakota denominations, view the North Dakota Church Records wiki page.

  • Records of the Lutheran Church, Stutsman County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).[3]

Trinity Lutheran Church, Jamestown

  • Records of Trinity Lutheran Church, Jamestown, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).[3]



When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. For more information on this, see North Dakota Land and Property.

After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Stutsman County, North Dakota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section North Dakota Local Histories.




Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stutsman County, North Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate records of North Dakota are at the county clerk's office in each county courthouse. See above for the address of this county's courthouse. Some later estate records are available at the North Dakota Supreme Court. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota.

See the Wiki page North Dakota Probate Records for additional information.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: dockets, guardians records, administrators records, real estate records, personal property records, and claim registers.


The location of tax records of North Dakota depend on the type of tax. Some are at the clerk's office in the county courthouse, while others are in the state archive. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of tax records from North Dakota.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stutsman County, North Dakota. Page 526 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society,, accessed 10 June 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 March 2015, at 09:09.
  • This page has been accessed 5,954 times.