Sudbury, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sudbury, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Sudbury, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sudbury, Derbyshire
Sudbury All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Sudbury All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Uttoxeter PLU
Registration District Uttoxeter
Records begin
Parish registers: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1634
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cubley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sudbury All Saints is an Ancient parish in Derbyshire.

SUDBURY (All Saints), an ancient parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 5 miles (E. by S.) from Uttoxeter.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sudbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Sudbury All Saints (1673) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1900-1912
  NONE
1837-1912
  NONE
NONE
  NONE

Derbyshire Record Office reference D1251 has deposited registers Bap 1673-1968 Mar 1673-2001 Burials 1673-1900 Banns 1824-1972

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1634-1884 Mar 1634-1837 Burials 1634-1884

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.


Poor Law Unions

Uttoxeter Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sudbury on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 256-261. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 12:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,206 times.